University of Southern MaineLibraries

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Chat with a Librarian

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Images
  • Video, Streaming
New
Includes Human Anatomy & Physiology (with faculty area) and Human Functional Anatomy modules. Medically accurate and detailed 3-D human anatomy. The model can be rotated 360 degrees to view key anatomical structures. Includes dissection slides, animations and movies showing muscle movement. (USM subscription does not include 3-D Atlas or 3-D Real Time).
New
A service of New England Conservatory's Entrepreneurial Musicianship Department, Bridge: Worldwide Music Connection provides online access to 3,000 opportunities in music and arts administration. Our subscribers are taking their careers to the next level by connecting with the auditions, teaching positions, administrative positions, competitions, grants, scholarships, and festivals they find posted here fresh each day.
  • EBooks
  • Listen
New
Free downloadable e-books and audiobooks for USM faculty, students, and staff. CloudLibrary works with most computers, tablets, and smartphones, so you can read and listen wherever you want.
New
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochran
New
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
New
This new collaboration extends the work started in 2014, when EBSCO and the H.W. Wilson Foundation created American Doctoral Dissertations which contained indexing from the H.W. Wilson print publication, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933-1955. In 2015, the H.W. Wilson Foundation agreed to support the expansion of the scope of the American Doctoral Dissertations database to include records for dissertations and theses from 1955 to the present.
New
Encyclopedia of Social Work, the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Building off the classic reference work, a valuable tool for social workers for over 85 years, the online resource of the same name offers the reliability of print with the accessibility of a digital platform. Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
New
Humanities Open Book (HOB) is a program intended to give a second life to outstanding out-of-print books in the humanities by turning them into free e-books. HEB is among select awardees to have been chosen for participation in this joint initiative of The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. These books are now available in a beta version on the Fulcrum platform, which will host the entire HEB collection starting August 1, 2018. More info about the HOB program.
New
IBISWorld’s Industry Research Reports are powerful business tools that provide strategic insight and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries and over 70 global industries.

Business Environment Profiles provide insight into these key drivers, which include exchange rates, commodity prices, interest rates, weather conditions, consumer attitudes, demographics and many more.
New
IPA Source offers texts to works for the solo voice in Latin, Italian, German, French, Spanish, and English. Our guiding principle is to offer great debth of literature in each language before adding new singing languages.
New
World's largest online classical music library offering streaming access to more than 39,000 CDs with more than 562,000 tracks. NML offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels, including BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content. Other resources offered by NML include synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names and a glossary of musical terms. Search by composer, work and label; keyword search; or an advanced search engine with up to 10 combined search criteria. Music and recordings are streaming and may not be copied or downloaded. NML is updated monthly with approximately 500 new CDs. Users can create private playlists by clicking on the Playlist tab, then clicking on Sign-up to create a playlist account. Playlists can be accessed via a free iPhone app as well as the NML web site.

USM faculty may create and edit public playlists, which will be accessible to all USM users on the NML site under the “Playlist” tab. For information on how to login to create and edit playlists, USM faculty should contact William Sargent (william.sargent@maine.edu).
New
The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world?s
largest free index of digital resources for the study of music.

Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world?s digital collections.
New
Oxford Bibliographies is a collection of disciplined-based subject modules in which leading scholars recommend and summarize the most important and significant sources in each subject. USM has access to Education, Linguistics, Political Science and Public Health.
New
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
New
SBRnet is a leading source of sports market analytics for the academic community.
New
??? Major Hollywood and independent movie studios have appointed Swank as their exclusive licensing and distribution partner to offer their box-office hits for public performance in non-theatrical markets (markets outside theaters). The University College division of the University of Maine System offers this service to any professor, at any campus, teaching an online course. Please contact brenda.sevigny@maine.edu to secure rights to films in the Digital Campus catalog. SWANK streams use Google Widevine (students may have to activate/allow the plug-in). The streams work on desktops, laptops, tablets, and mobile devices on all browsers with the exception of Edge (coming soon).
New
Taylor & Francis publish high quality, rigorously peer-reviewed open access (OA) research across all disciplines.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...