University of Southern MaineLibraries

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Chat with a Librarian

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Images
  • Video, Streaming
New
Includes Human Anatomy & Physiology (with faculty area) and Human Functional Anatomy modules. Medically accurate and detailed 3-D human anatomy. The model can be rotated 360 degrees to view key anatomical structures. Includes dissection slides, animations and movies showing muscle movement. (USM subscription does not include 3-D Atlas or 3-D Real Time).
New
The Chronicle of Higher Education is updated daily and provides news, information, and job listings for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the text from the current print edition, posted every Monday morning; commentary and essays from the weekly magazine, The Chronicle Review; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; a searchable archive of every issue published since September 1989; slide shows, podcasts, and video; discussion forums; data from the annual Almanac of Higher Education and other reports; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. Users may want to create a free personal account, in order to sign up for various e-mail updates and alerts, participate in online forums, and utilize career services.
  • EBooks
  • Listen
New
Free downloadable e-books and audiobooks for USM faculty, students, and staff. CloudLibrary works with most computers, tablets, and smartphones, so you can read and listen wherever you want.
New
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochran
Trial
Data-Planet™, a very large dynamic repository providing access to massive amounts of statistical data combined with descriptive content and a robust suite of visualization, search, and analysis capabilities on a single platform. We endeavor to hasten access to statistical data and enhance its usability for those who need it in their daily work flow, whether it be for academic or commercial research purposes. We are always looking for more ways to make statistical data useful or to provide context for this data.
New
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
New
IPA Source offers texts to works for the solo voice in Latin, Italian, German, French, Spanish, and English. Our guiding principle is to offer great debth of literature in each language before adding new singing languages.
New
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that indexes medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 biomedical journals.
New
The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world?s
largest free index of digital resources for the study of music.

Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world?s digital collections.
Trial
SAGE Stats makes research easy by providing, in one place, annual measures dating back more than two decades. It features statistical data series created from more than 400,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, metropolitan areas, and ZIP codes. By harmonizing carefully-vetted data from multiple sources into the same format– allowing quick downloads, comparisons, and visualizations–SAGE Stats provides power and context for researchers at all levels.
New
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
New
Taylor & Francis publish high quality, rigorously peer-reviewed open access (OA) research across all disciplines.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...